paritybit.ca

Unnamed repository; edit this file 'description' to name the repository.
Log | Files | Refs | README | LICENSE

commit 395b65ed89f7129c22dc9b8c3a7f4d057d776dda
parent 4d6e55f77a284aa5f39be3ac5fd8f13921df4ad1
Author: Jake Bauer <jbauer@paritybit.ca>
Date:   Wed,  3 Nov 2021 05:29:59 -0400

Update home and links pages

Diffstat:
Mpages/home.md | 5++---
Mpages/links.md | 42+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++---
2 files changed, 41 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

diff --git a/pages/home.md b/pages/home.md @@ -16,8 +16,8 @@ back online soon™. ### Blog I blog mostly about technology and computing. I also took part in -[#100DaysToOffload](https://100daystooffload.com/) in 2020. Here is a showcase -of the blog posts I am most proud of: +[#100DaysToOffload](https://100daystooffload.com/) in 2020. Here are some to get +you started: * [Why IRC is Still Good in $CURRENT_YEAR](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/why-irc-is-still-good) * [Why Email is the Best Discussion Platform](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/why-email-is-the-best-discussion-platform) @@ -27,7 +27,6 @@ of the blog posts I am most proud of: * [A Month-and-a-Half of Self-Hosted Email](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/a-month-and-a-half-of-self-hosted-email) * [Are TODO Applications a Waste of Time?](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/are-todo-applications-a-waste-of-time) * [Why I Hate The Term “Modern”](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/why-i-hate-the-term-modern) -* [My Journey With Computers](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/my-journey-with-computers) ### About This Site diff --git a/pages/links.md b/pages/links.md @@ -4,7 +4,7 @@ [//]: # "main.min.css" -[//]: # "Friends; General Life; Internet and Hacker Culture; The Workplace; Business; Videos and Lectures; Programming; sub:Vim; sub:Web Design; Blogroll" +[//]: # "Friends; General Life; Internet and Hacker Culture; The Workplace; Business; Videos and Lectures; Programming; sub:Vim; sub:Web Design; sub:Web Accessibility Tools and Resources; Blogroll" ### Friends @@ -13,6 +13,7 @@ with stuff on them. Consider checking them out: * [Alexandra](https://www.alm.website/) * [Amolith](https://secluded.site) +* [Ari](https://cronut.cafe/~lustlion/) * [Atsuko Tominaga](https://atsukotominaga.com/) * [Avery](https://avery.cafe/) * [Captain Epoch](https://adol.pw/) @@ -216,10 +217,15 @@ with stuff on them. Consider checking them out: * [Semantic Versioning](https://semver.org/spec/v2.0.0.html) -* [Built to Last](https://logicmag.io/care/built-to-last/) - When overwhelmed unemployment insurance systems malfunctioned during the pandemic, governments blamed the sixty-year-old programming language COBOL. But what really failed? +* [Built to Last](https://logicmag.io/care/built-to-last/) - When overwhelmed + unemployment insurance systems malfunctioned during the pandemic, governments + blamed the sixty-year-old programming language COBOL. But what really failed? * [How to Make Package Managers Cry](https://archive.fosdem.org/2018/schedule/event/how_to_make_package_managers_cry/) +* [The Mediocre Programmer](http://themediocreprogrammer.com/) - A book about + the journey of becoming a better programmer. + #### Vim @@ -233,7 +239,7 @@ with stuff on them. Consider checking them out: * [vimcasts.org](http://vimcasts.org/) - A collection of useful tutorials and webcasts on using vim. -* [How to Do 90% of What Plugins Do (With Just Vim)](https://www.invidio.us/watch?v=XA2WjJbmmoM) +* [How to Do 90% of What Plugins Do (With Just Vim)](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XA2WjJbmmoM) #### Web Design @@ -263,6 +269,36 @@ with stuff on them. Consider checking them out: Building a web-based metronome in under 1KB of code to prove the point that websites need not be 8 times the size of Jupiter. +#### Web Accessibility Tools and Resources + +* [Tanaguru Contrast Finder](https://contrast-finder.tanaguru.com/) + +* [Toptal Colour Blind Filter](https://www.toptal.com/designers/colorfilter) + +* [Viewable with Any Browser](https://anybrowser.org/campaign/) + +* [WebAIM Contrast Checker](https://webaim.org/resources/contrastchecker/) + +* [Website Accessibility Checklist](http://romeo.elsevier.com/accessibility_checklist/) + +* [W3 Introduction to Accesibility](https://www.w3.org/WAI/fundamentals/accessibility-intro/) + +* [W3 Page Structure Explanation](https://www.w3.org/WAI/tutorials/page-structure/regions/) + +* [W3 Schools CSS Reference](https://www.w3schools.com/css) + +* [WAVE Web Accessibility Validation Tool](https://wave.webaim.org/) + +* [EXPERTE Web Accessibility Checking Tool](https://www.experte.com/accessibility) + +* [Google's PageSpeed Insights](https://developers.google.com/speed/pagespeed/insights/) + +* [Inclusively Hidden](https://www.scottohara.me/blog/2017/04/14/inclusively-hidden.html) + +* [WebPageTest](https://www.webpagetest.org/) + +* [WebPageTest's Lighthouse Test (run Lighthouse without Google Chrome)](https://www.webpagetest.org/lighthouse) + ### Blogroll Below are a bunch of feeds (blogs/podcasts/YouTube channels) which I follow,