paritybit.ca

Unnamed repository; edit this file 'description' to name the repository.
Log | Files | Refs | README | LICENSE

commit 6ac67736fb69ffa9c3d9474ef83487a8a8daac40
parent 8fced09f6e1b5ea1ec3eb741b02f8c6b9548e3dd
Author: Jake Bauer <jbauer@paritybit.ca>
Date:   Mon,  8 Nov 2021 03:24:54 -0500

Draft of latest blog post

Diffstat:
Mpages/blog.md | 3+++
Mpages/blog/free-software-is-an-abject-failure.md | 2+-
Mpages/home.md | 17+++++++++--------
3 files changed, 13 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)

diff --git a/pages/blog.md b/pages/blog.md @@ -24,6 +24,9 @@ src="/img/feed-icon.png" width="15" height="15" alt="Click for RSS"/> Subscribe <button aria-label="Submit search query.">&#128270;</button> </form> +November 8, 2021<br> +[Free Software is an Abject Failure](blog/free-software-is-an-abject-failure) + October 26, 2021<br> [A Git Workflow With Claws Mail](blog/a-git-workflow-with-claws-mail) diff --git a/pages/blog/free-software-is-an-abject-failure.md b/pages/blog/free-software-is-an-abject-failure.md @@ -1,6 +1,6 @@ ## Free Software is an Abject Failure -[//]: # "Free Software is harmful. It may sound like a good concept on its face—especially with the kind of language often used to describe the movement and its opponents—but, when put under scrutiny, the institutions and practices that make up the Free Software movement fundamentally fail at their stated goals. Free Software is an ideological mess, Free Software hampers collaboration, Free Software is legally ineffective, Free Software makes the lives of users and developers harder, and Free Software fundamentally gets in the way of a thriving software ecosystem." +[//]: # "Free Software is an abject failure. It may sound like a good concept on its face—especially with the kind of language often used to describe the movement and its opponents—but, when put under scrutiny, the institutions and practices that make up the Free Software movement fundamentally fail at their stated goals. Free Software is an ideological mess, Free Software hampers collaboration, Free Software is legally ineffective, Free Software makes the lives of users and developers harder, and Free Software fundamentally gets in the way of a thriving software ecosystem." [//]: # "main.min.css" diff --git a/pages/home.md b/pages/home.md @@ -19,14 +19,15 @@ I blog mostly about technology and computing. I also took part in [#100DaysToOffload](https://100daystooffload.com/) in 2020. Here are some to get you started: -* [Why IRC is Still Good in $CURRENT_YEAR](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/why-irc-is-still-good) -* [Why Email is the Best Discussion Platform](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/why-email-is-the-best-discussion-platform) -* [Choosing a Self-Hosted Git Service](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/choosing-a-self-hosted-git-service) -* [Paying for Software](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/paying-for-software) -* [The Joys of Old Tech](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/the-joys-of-old-tech) -* [A Month-and-a-Half of Self-Hosted Email](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/a-month-and-a-half-of-self-hosted-email) -* [Are TODO Applications a Waste of Time?](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/are-todo-applications-a-waste-of-time) -* [Why I Hate The Term “Modern”](https://www.paritybit.ca/blog/why-i-hate-the-term-modern) +* [Free Software is an Abject Failure](/blog/free-software-is-an-abject-failure) +* [Why IRC is Still Good in $CURRENT_YEAR](/blog/why-irc-is-still-good) +* [Why Email is the Best Discussion Platform](/blog/why-email-is-the-best-discussion-platform) +* [Choosing a Self-Hosted Git Service](/blog/choosing-a-self-hosted-git-service) +* [Paying for Software](/blog/paying-for-software) +* [The Joys of Old Tech](/blog/the-joys-of-old-tech) +* [A Month-and-a-Half of Self-Hosted Email](/blog/a-month-and-a-half-of-self-hosted-email) +* [Are TODO Applications a Waste of Time?](/blog/are-todo-applications-a-waste-of-time) +* [Why I Hate The Term “Modern”](/blog/why-i-hate-the-term-modern) ### About This Site