paritybit.ca

Raw content of https://www.paritybit.ca.
git clone https://git.sr.ht/~jbauer/paritybit.ca
Log | Files | Refs | README | LICENSE

index.md (2532B)


      1 Title: Welcome!
      2 Summary: The personal website and blog of Jake Bauer.
      3 
      4 # [%title]
      5 
      6 My name is Jake though I usually go by "jbauer" online. I am a hobbyist
      7 sysadmin, recreational programmer, and supporter of online freedom, privacy
      8 rights, and free and open access to information and knowledge. I love simple and
      9 sustainable technologies, tea, writing, and gardening. I'm also a big fan of the
     10 small internet and low-tech or analog solutions to everyday problems.
     11 
     12 ## Blog
     13 
     14 I blog mostly about technology and computing. I also took part in
     15 [#100DaysToOffload](https://100daystooffload.com/) in 2020. Here are some to get
     16 you started:
     17 
     18 * [Free Software is an Abject Failure](/blog/free-software-is-an-abject-failure)
     19 * [Why IRC is Still Good in $CURRENT_YEAR](/blog/why-irc-is-still-good)
     20 * [Why Email is the Best Discussion Platform](/blog/why-email-is-the-best-discussion-platform)
     21 * [Choosing a Self-Hosted Git Service](/blog/choosing-a-self-hosted-git-service)
     22 * [Paying for Software](/blog/paying-for-software)
     23 * [The Joys of Old Tech](/blog/the-joys-of-old-tech)
     24 * [A Month-and-a-Half of Self-Hosted Email](/blog/a-month-and-a-half-of-self-hosted-email)
     25 * [Are TODO Applications a Waste of Time?](/blog/are-todo-applications-a-waste-of-time)
     26 * [Why I Hate The Term “Modern”](/blog/why-i-hate-the-term-modern)
     27 
     28 ## About This Site
     29 
     30 This is a static website generated from Markdown using
     31 [lowdown](https://kristaps.bsd.lv/lowdown/) with my POSIX shell-based static
     32 site generator [sbs](https://git.sr.ht/~jbauer/sbs). It is designed to be
     33 lightweight, accessible, and privacy-respecting. The site lives in a [git
     34 repository](https://git.sr.ht/~jbauer/paritybit.ca). This site is also featured
     35 on [10kbclub.com](https://10kbclub.com/) and is a part of the [XXIIVV
     36 Webring](https://webring.xxiivv.com/#paritybit) and the [Fediring
     37 webring](https://fediring.net).
     38 
     39 ## Contact
     40 
     41 Ordered from most to least preferred, I can be contacted using:
     42 
     43 * Email: [jbauer@paritybit.ca](mailto:jbauer@paritybit.ca);
     44 * XMPP: Not unless I know you;
     45 * Fediverse: [@jbauer@bsd.network](https://bsd.network/@jbauer);
     46 * IRC: `jbauer` on OFTC, Libera.chat, maybe other networks.
     47 
     48 If you're contacting me using XMPP, please use OMEMO if you can. My device
     49 fingerprints (which can change) are currently:
     50 
     51 ```
     52 PC:     42988003 bfdb1260 1bd43abe 598716ce d6d03e2c f680a395 a6b3c69a 7bf2cb2a
     53 Laptop: 2bc93b63 42dad123 0d321ebf dd42925c efce4052 f5347295 956677d8 ccb4080f
     54 Phone:  2b46e1a8 aaae9a82 48bbad53 d9922ca5 dcd160dc 02e25031 2ea0f6a1 e02ee31a
     55 ```